Here it is the beginng of a new off season training year, I have been recently released so i have plenty of time to get back into shape and get ready for another assault in the nfl. I am a little bit older now so my off season training is much more important than it has been in the past. I was offered the opportunity to begin training with Jesse Crespo over at CrossFit 1Force in Deptford NJ. This is my second off season training at CrossFit but i decided to to take my training to next level and begin a more pin pointed training regimen, I am going to blog about my workouts and explain how well they are going and also let you all know how much it has and will help me in my quest to get back to Ballin!! 

The first week of my training was basically just testing to see where I am in terms of strength and conditioning. Jesse wrote out 4 days worth of workouts to complete on my own and i recorded all my numbers to get an idea of just how out of shape i am!! Here Goes…

Monday: Back Squat to 1 Rep Max :385 Lbs

Strict Press to 1 Rep Max 155Lbs

Weighted Pull Up 55Lbs

1K Row Time Trial: 3 mins 30 seconds

So the first day i felt pretty good. I did 385 fairly easily but I also did not want to push it just yet while working out alone. Strict press i was a little disappointed with my upper body strength has always been something that i needed to get better at but this was lower than i thought it would be. Weighted pullups i got up to 55 pounds. Not bad for me. And 1k row was better than i expected at 3min30. Overall felt fairly good for first day.

Day 2

Power Clean 1RpMax 285

Bench Press 1RpM 295

Weighted Bar Dip 1Rp Max 55

Max Height Box Jump 46in

Tuesday i felt good going into workout. I felt well on the power clean but this was the most i could manage this day. Bench press i got 295 which i was surprised at because i have not maxed in bench since college and this is more than i had done then. weighted bar dips I got 55lbs not sure what to make of that, and box jump i cleared 46in box. i felt this was ok nothing spectacular.

Wednesday was Rest day.

Power Snatch 1Rpm 185

Max rep PullUps 14

1 Set Max Rep Pushups 53

Broad Jump max distance 8ft 10in

1 mile Run 7min 32 seconds

Thursday felt pretty good again i really enjoy coming in on my own and getting after it. i pulled 185 in snatch and i was pretty surprised for some reason i thought i was stronger than this but thats all i could manage. This can be because of my tight shoulders. Max pullups 14 not what i thought id get but i will get better at these Max push ups 53 i almost died getting that 53rd one. Broad jump again not sure where i should be but i did ok. 1 mile time trial i hate long distance running and you can tell by my time posted! ha i will get better at this but i remember being around this similar time back in the day!! 

I missed friday’s workout and had to complete on saturday on my own. It was a 15Min Amrap it killed me! I got 5 rounds in it consisted of 

10 Lateral box jumps at 20in

10 Kettle Bell swings and 53 lbs

10 burpees to a 6 in target.

I was just happy to be done with it!!

Ok so there you have it my very first week of testing i found some good things and some things i definitely need to work on to get right for next season no matter where ill be. Stay tuned!

 

